A 100% homegrown player in France’s renewable energy sector
Boralex has been developing and producing renewable energy in France for 20 years.

Boralex is committed to the French energy transition

Boralex is a renewable energy leader that arose alongside the major French conventional energy companies in 1998. A young, agile company mindful of its impact, Boralex wishes to accelerate France’s shift to a sustainable energy model for future generations.

In less than 20 years, the company has become the country’s largest independent producer of onshore wind power. Today, Boralex operates close to 800 MW in France across some 50 wind, solar and thermal sites. It stands out from its competitors through its proficiency in the use of many renewable technologies as well as its vertical integration: its entire production is generated by assets it owns.

  • Pictogramme
    An integrated operator
    Boralex commits itself to the communities for the long term. This means prioritizing the insourcing of skills, know-how sharing and transfer within the company, with a higher degree of responsiveness, continuity and commitment… all to better serve the communities.
  • Pictogramme
    Innovative wind power projects
    The repowering of the Cham Longe Wind Farm and the commissioning of storage batteries at Comes de l’Arce are two key projects that will be developed in Ardèche starting in 2019.
  • Pictogramme
    Solutions adapted to each community
    Boralex develops tailored, innovative solutions with frugal capital investments based on the “Jugaad” principle.

A culture built on agility

Boralex is an agile, horizontal organization. Its culture is based on the ability of its employees—mainly generation Y and millennials—to take initiative.

They feed and strengthen the company’s intrinsically responsible stance and its determination to limit the impact of its activities. They guarantee the company’s ability to act immediately, and to find bold solutions to resolve local problems.

Boralex’s technicians embody the company’s pioneering spirit. Thanks to the proximity of the maintenance centres (all located less than two hours from the sites), these skilled individuals guarantee one of the best response rates in the market and are fully involved in controlling the industrial asset.

* Jugaad: Indian concept of innovation, which advocates doing more with less, i.e. a frugal approach based on creating simple but effective solutions.

Boralex, an “augmented rurality” player
The very nature of Boralex’s industry and its DNA make it a committed player in the heart of the communities. These communities are for the most part sparsely populated, with low tourist and economic potential. Boralex contributes to mitigating the rural exodus by recreating a local dynamic and industry-based on a more active, enhanced rural culture that is proud of its heritage.
It provides solutions to the communities and contributes to making them attractive to families, and competitive for businesses in a global context of digital, energy and ecological transitions.
  • Pictogramme
    Generating economic and financial spinoffs for communities and residents
  • Pictogramme
    Allowing communities to reclaim the issue of energy
  • Pictogramme
    Developing capital openness and crowdfunding
  • Pictogramme
    Acting to preserve heritage and the local way of life
  • Pictogramme
    Offsetting the impacts of our activities

Together, let’s accelerate France’s energy transition… by producing low-carbon, sustainable energy

Boralex wants to be the driving force behind France’s energy transition. With no risk of conflict of interest with other energies, Boralex is investing massively in the exponential development of its green energy production capacity. Willing to commit for the long term and develop custom solutions for each communities, Boralex is setting the stage for a new French energy model.

Boralex commitments: “sustainable by design”

Committed to supporting the communities

Boralex works with elected officials and residents to develop the existing heritage and improve the local quality of life. Boralex is a leader of local renewal, of an “augmented rurality” in which educational paths based on local conditions are multiplied, heritage is restored and local businesses are revitalized. It supports communities in developing the life of the village, with a view to initiating a new type of appeal for tourists and promoting heritage.

Shared values and commitment to WWF France

WWF France has been working with Boralex since 2011 in all the environmental aspects of its projects. This partnership, renewed in May 2017, guarantees a close collaboration to protect species and their habitats while developing wind power to the fullest. It includes providing expertise on the preservation of species and land, submitting findings during public inquiries and furnishing diagnostic assistance.

Testimonies
An all-around partner Thierry Tissandier / Elected municipal official in Avignonet-Lauragais “There’s the church, the village and the wind turbines. This has created a stronger dynamic in the commune, which is all the richer thanks to its association with Boralex. For a village of some 1,400 inhabitants, it’s a stroke of luck. The town supports this new relationship that all citizens must have with energy.” A continuing presence Paul Viardet / Mayor of Buxières-sur-Arce “Even after the construction of the wind farm, Boralex maintains an ongoing positive and reassuring contact to answer residents’ questions. We know that we can count on them.”

Un acteur 100% natif énergies renouvelables en France
Boralex développe et produit les énergies renouvelables au cœur des territoires français, depuis 20 ans.

Boralex s’engage dans la transition énergétique française

Boralex est un expert des énergies renouvelables qui a fait son apparition aux côtés des grands acteurs de l’énergie traditionnels français en 1998. Jeune entreprise agile soucieuse de son impact, Boralex veut accélérer le basculement de la France dans un modèle énergétique durable pour les générations futures.

En moins de 20 ans, la société est devenue le premier producteur indépendant de l’éolien terrestre en France. Boralex opère aujourd’hui en France près de 800 MW répartis sur une cinquantaine de sites éoliens, solaires et thermiques. Elle se distingue de ses concurrents par sa maîtrise de plusieurs technologies renouvelables et par sa dimension industrielle et intégrée : 100 % de la production est issue d’actifs dont elle est propriétaire.

  • Pictogramme
    Un opérateur intégré
    Boralex s’engage sur le long terme auprès des territoires. Cela implique une préférence à l’internalisation des compétences, au partage et à la transmission des savoir-faire au sein de l’entreprise… au service des territoires.
  • Pictogramme
    Des projets éoliens innovants
    Le repowering du parc éolien de Cham Longe et la mise en service de batteries de stockage à Comes de l’Arce sont deux projets phares qui seront développés dès 2019 en Ardèche.
  • Pictogramme
    Des solutions adaptées à chaque territoire
    Boralex trouve des solutions adaptées et innovantes avec une économie de matière et d’investissement, selon le principe du « Jugaad * ».

Une culture de l’agilité

Boralex est une entreprise agile, avec peu de niveaux hiérarchiques. Elle repose sur la capacité d’initiative de ses collaborateurs, majoritairement issus de la génération Y et des Millenials.

Ils nourrissent et renforcent la posture intrinsèquement responsable de l’entreprise ainsi que sa volonté forte de limiter les impacts. Ils garantissent la capacité du groupe à agir sans attendre, à trouver des solutions audacieuses pour résoudre des problématiques locales.

Ce sont les techniciens de Boralex qui concrétisent l’esprit pionnier de l’entreprise. Grâce à la proximité des centres de maintenance (tous situés à moins de deux heures des sites), ils garantissent l’un des meilleurs taux d’intervention du marché et sont totalement investis à la parfaite maitrise de l’actif industriel.

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus? Consultez notre blog ici.

* Jugaad : concept indien de l’innovation, qui consiste à faire plus avec moins, c’est-à-dire à créer des solutions simples mais efficaces, avec une économie de matière et d’investissement.

Boralex, acteur de la « ruralité augmentée »
La nature de l’activité et l’ADN de Boralex en font un partenaire engagé au cœur des territoires. Ces territoires sont pour la plupart des zones peu denses, d’une faible attractivité touristique et économique. Boralex contribue à atténuer les logiques de désertification en recréant une dynamique locale et une activité tournée vers une ruralité plus vivante, enrichie et fière de son patrimoine.
Boralex apporte des solutions aux communes et contribue à faire de leurs territoires des lieux attractifs pour les familles, et compétitifs pour les entreprises dans un contexte global de transitions numérique, énergétique et écologique.
  • Pictogramme
    Générer des retombées économiques et financières pour les collectivités et les habitants
  • Pictogramme
    Permettre aux territoires de se réapproprier la question énergétique
  • Pictogramme
    Développer l'ouverture du capital et le financement participatif
  • Pictogramme
    Agir pour la préservation du patrimoine et de la vie locale
  • Pictogramme
    Compenser les impacts de notre activité

Ensemble, accélérons la transition vers la production d’une énergie décarbonée et durable

Boralex veut être le catalyseur de cette transition. Sans risque de conflit d’intérêt avec d’autres énergies, Boralex investit massivement dans le développement exponentiel de capacité de production d’énergie verte. Capable de s’engager à long terme et de faire du sur-mesure pour chaque territoire, Boralex construit les preuves d’un nouveau modèle énergétique possible.

Les engagements Boralex : « durable by design »

Engagée pour accompagner les territoires

Boralex intervient aux côtés des élus et des habitants pour valoriser le patrimoine existant et améliorer le cadre de vie local. Boralex est un acteur du renouveau local, pour une « ruralité augmentée » : plus de parcours pédagogiques sur les spécificités locales, nouvelle vie du patrimoine, revitalisation du commerce de proximité…Elle accompagne les territoires dans le développement de la vie de village, notamment pour initier une nouvelle forme d’attractivité touristique et la revalorisation du patrimoine.

Un engagement et des valeurs partagés avec le WWF France

Depuis 2011, le WWF France accompagne Boralex dans toutes les dimensions environnementales de la conduite de ses projets. Ce partenariat, renouvelé en mai 2017, garantit une collaboration exigeante en vue de la protection des espèces et de leurs habitats en plein développement du secteur éolien : apport d’expertise sur la préservation des espèces et des espaces, remise de conclusions lors d’enquêtes publiques et aide au diagnostic.

Témoignages
Partenaire tout terrain Thierry Tissandier / Élu municipal à Avignonet-Lauragais « Il y a l’église, il y a le bourg et il y a les éoliennes. Ça a renforcé la dynamique de la commune riche d’un tissu associatif accompagné par Boralex. Pour une commune de 1400 habitants, c’est une chance. La commune favorise cette relation nouvelle que tout citoyen doit avoir avec l’énergie. » Une présence de tous les instants Paul Viardet / Maire de Buxières-sur-Arce « Boralex maintient un contact, même après la construction du parc, qui est de nature très positive et rassurante pour répondre à des questions posées par les habitants. On sait qu’on peut compter sur la société. »